

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) www.e-kong.com

(Stock Code: 524)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND MEMBER OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE

The board of directors (the "Board") of e-Kong Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. John William Crawford J.P. has been appointed an independent non-executive director of the Company with effect from 30 September 2004. Mr. Crawford was also nominated as a member of the audit committee of the Company on the same date.

Mr. Crawford, aged 62, was a founding partner of Ernst & Young, Hong Kong and vice chairman of the firm until he retired in 1997. During his 25 years in public accounting, he was also the chairman of the audit division of Ernst & Young and was active in a number of large private and public company takeover and/or restructuring exercises. Mr. Crawford has been active in various community service areas such as being a founding member of UNICEF Hong Kong Committee and the Hong Kong Institute of Directors. In 1997, Mr. Crawford was appointed a Justice of the Peace in Hong Kong. He is a member and was a governor for many years of the Canadian International School of Hong Kong. Mr. Crawford is also an independent non-executive director of SUNDAY Communications Limited, whose shares are listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Mr. Crawford has not previously held any positions with the Company or its subsidiaries, and is not connected with any directors, senior management or substantial shareholders of the Company. As at the date hereof, Mr. Crawford does not have any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

In accordance with the appointment letter with Mr. Crawford, the term of his appointment is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at the annual general meetings of the Company in accordance with the bye-laws of the Company. Mr. Crawford will be entitled to an annual director's fee of HK\$100,000, which is determined based on the Company's remuneration policy for independent non-executive directors.

Save as disclosed above, there are not any other matters in relation to the appointment of Mr. Crawford that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Company would like to take this opportunity to welcome Mr. Crawford to the Board.

By Order of the Board of e-Kong Group Limited Lau Wai Ming Raymond Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 30 September 2004

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises Executive Directors Mr. Richard John Siemens, Mr. Kuldeep Saran and Mr. Lim Shyang Guey; Non-executive Director Mr. William Bruce Hicks and Independent Non-executive Directors Mr. Shane Frederick Weir, Mr. Matthew Brian Rosenberg and Mr. John William Crawford.