Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



www.e-kong.com (Stock Code: 524)

APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The Board announces that Mr. Ye Fengping has been appointed as a Non-executive Director of the Company with effect from 25 May 2009.

The board of directors (the "Board") of e-Kong Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that Mr. Ye Fengping has been appointed as a Non-executive Director of the Company with effect from 25 May 2009.

Mr. Ye, aged 45, has twenty years of experience in the telecom industry in China and extensive experience in marketing planning and management. During the period of September 2007 to March 2009, Mr. Ye served as the Chief Executive Officer, China of the Company, responsible for exploration and development of ZONE's business and other opportunities in China. Prior to joining the Company, Mr. Ye acted as the Chief Operating Officer of CITIC 21CN Company Limited from June 2006 to April 2007, a company whose shares are listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "SEHK"). Before that, he was an Executive Director and Vice President of China Unicom Limited from January 2003 to March 2006, a company whose shares are listed on the SEHK, and also served as general manager of Sales and Marketing Department and Deputy General Manager of Guangdong Branch of China Unicom Corporation Limited (now known as China United Network Communications Corporation Limited). Mr. Ye is a senior engineer, graduated from Nanjing Posts and Telecommunications Institution in 1984, with a major in Telecommunications Engineering and obtained a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Minnesota's Carlson School. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Ye did not hold any other directorships in public companies listed in Hong Kong or any other major exchanges in the last three years preceding the date of this announcement.

Also, at the date of this announcement, Mr. Ye does not have any interests in the ordinary shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

In accordance with the letter of appointment with Mr. Ye, the term of his appointment shall, subject to the applicable rules and provisions of the Bye-laws regarding retirement and re-election at the annual general meetings of the Company, expire on 31 December 2011 provided always that either the Company or Mr. Ye may terminate the appointment by giving to the other party not less than one (1) calendar month's notice in writing. Mr. Ye is entitled to an annual director's fee of HK\$150,000, which was determined by the Board with reference to the prevailing market level of remuneration for a similar position. Other than the aforesaid, Mr. Ye is not entitled to any other emoluments for holding office as a Non-executive Director.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Ye does not hold any positions with the Company or its subsidiaries, and is not connected with any directors, senior management or substantial shareholders of the Company. Mr. Ye has confirmed that there are no matters that are required to be disclosed in accordance with Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) (both inclusive) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the SEHK and there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of shareholders of the Company.

The Board takes this opportunity to welcome Mr. Ye to its leadership team.

By Order of the Board Lau Wai Ming Raymond Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 26 May 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises Executive Directors, Richard John Siemens and Lim Shyang Guey; Non-executive Directors, William Bruce Hicks and Ye Fengping and Independent Non-executive Directors, Shane Frederick Weir, John William Crawford J.P. and Gerald Clive Dobby.