Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability) www.e-kong.com

(Stock Code: 524)

## **ANNOUNCEMENT**

Reference is made to the announcement of e-Kong Group Limited (the "Company") dated 16 May 2013 in relation to, among others, the retirement of Mr. Shane Frederick Weir ("Mr. Weir") as an independent non-executive director ("INED") of the Company. Prior to his retirement, Mr. Weir was also the former Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a former member of the Audit Committee of the Company.

Following the retirement of Mr. Weir on 16 May 2013, the board of directors (the "Board") of the Company has only two INEDs and two Audit Committee members, which fall below the minimum requirements under Rules 3.10(1) and 3.21 respectively of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules"). In addition, the Board has only two Remuneration Committee members, one of whom is an INED, which deviates from the provisions of Listing Rule 3.25 in respect of the composition of the Remuneration Committee.

According to Listing Rule 3.11, the Board should identify suitable candidate(s) to fill the vacancy of an INED, the chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit Committee of the Company by 15 August 2013. The Company is already in the process of identifying suitable candidate(s) to best serve the interests of the shareholders of the Company but will require more time to finalise its decision. The Company will continue to use its best endeavours to comply with the relevant Listing Rules and will make further announcement as and when appropriate.

By Order of the Board **Lau Wai Ming Raymond** *Company Secretary* 

Hong Kong, 15 August 2013

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of the Company comprises Executive Directors, Richard John Siemens, Lim Shyang Guey and William Bruce Hicks; Non-executive Director, Jennifer Wes Saran; and Independent Non-executive Directors, John William Crawford J.P. and Gerald Clive Dobby.